about Parliamentary Constituencies in India:

The Indian Parliament consists of 2 homes. The Lok Sabha and therefore the Rajya Sabha. Lok Sabha is that the equivalent of the House of Commons and therefore the Rajya Sabha is appreciate the House of Lords in England, based mostly upon that the Parliamentary system has been derived.

Lok Sabha of 543 members World Health Organization represent the folks of Asian country. the total of Asian country is split as well as numerous states and Union Territories into 543 constituencies. the scale of the population is that the basic issue is taken into account whereas forming every Lok Sabha body. per the Indian Constitution, the most variety of Lok Sabha body in Asian country is 552, divided among 530 seats representing states and twenty seats representing Union Territories.

The Delimitation Commission under the Delimitation Act of 2002 redefined the list of Parliamentary constituencies, their respective assembly segments and reservation status of candidates from Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Unreserved candidates.

Elections to each Lok Sabha constituency in India are conducted on a direct election basis, where the voters choose the deserving candidates through secret-ballot system. The highest number of votes a candidate gets is declared as the winner. The election is conducted on the constituency basis.

The eligibility to cast vote in India is granted on the basis of age. Today, the minimum age to cast vote is 18 years and there is no maximum age limit. The election process is conducted by an independent body called the Election Commission of India. The Election Commission is responsible for fair and square conducting of elections for not only Lok Sabha, but also for State Legislature and other political elections. Each and every state is allotted with a fixed number of Lok Sabha seats and each constituency is defined as per the size of the area of the Lok Sabha constituency.

Parliamentary Constituencies In India