About Ministries In India

About Indian Ministries India may well be a Democratic Republic headed by Federal parliamentary representative viz the Prime Minister. The Federal Union attracts its powers from the Constitution of Republic of India that was established on the twenty sixth Day of Gregorian calendar month 1950. The twenty eight states, one town and vi Union Territories ar put together called as Republic of Republic of India and is headed by Indian Government.
The 3 lions showing on the Indian emblem represent the three major arms of functioning noncommissioned below the Constitution particularly:

  • the Legislative (comprising of Upper House - Rajya Sabha and the Lower House - Lok Sabha)
  • The Executive (Comprising of the Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, President and the Vice-President)
  • The Judiciary (all the Courts of law)

Members of Parliament and Ministries

The Parliamentary Laws unit of measurement subject to review by the Judiciary and therefore, parliamentary mastery does not latch on on the Parliament itself. As per the Constitution of Asian nation, the Council of Ministers and thus the Prime Minister ought to either be Members of Parliament (MPs) or be elective to that among six months of assuming work. every the Council of Ministers and thus the Prime Minister unit of measurement responsible to Lower House, the Lok Sabha.

Cabinet Ministry

The Prime Minister heads the Cabinet which comprises of 35 other ministers. The Cabinet is advised by the Secretary who also heads the Indian Administrative Service (IAS). The Cabinet Ministers are sub-divided into

  • Heads of Ministries- Union Cabinet Ministers
  • Ministers of State- directly under the Cabinet Ministers
  • Ministries with Independent Charge- usually the Junior Ministers and are not placed under the Cabinet.

Council of Ministers

As per the Constitution of India, to be a Cabinet member, an individual is required to be a member of either the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.
As per the ranks and responsibilities attached, the Cabinet Ministers are categorised as follows:

  • Senior Minister responsible for a Ministry is called the Union Cabinet Minister. Other than the allocated department, the said Minister may also be required to hold another position during vacancy thereof, till such vacancy is filled.
  • Ministries with Independent Charge - Minister of State who is not under direct control of any of the Union Cabinet Ministries.
  • Minister of State - With ultimate responsibility for a particular task in the State. He directly reports to one of the Union Cabinet Ministries. For example, Minister of State – taxation reports to the Finance Minister. 

Cabinet Secretariat

In order to facilitate business within the Government Departments and therefore the Ministries, the cupboard Secretary is appointed WHO is placed on par with Central Government Ministers. The workplace of cupboard secretary is named because the cupboard Secretariat that is accountable to co-ordinate amongst the Ministries, set-up standing committees/Adhoc Committees and permits higher cognitive process by the govt.

Prime Minister and Council of Ministers - India  
S.no Portfolio Name
Union Council of Ministers
1 Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space, All important policy issues and All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister Narendra Modi
Cabinet Ministers
1 Home Affairs Rajnath Singh
2 External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs Sushma Swaraj
3 Finance,Corporate Affairs Information & Broadcasting Arun Jaitley
4 Urban Development Housing, Urban Poverty Alleviation, Parliamentary Affairs M Venkaiah Naidu
5 Road Transport, Highways Shipping Nitin Jairam Gadkari
6 Defence Manohar Parrikar
7 Railways Suresh Prabhu
8 Law & Justice D.V. Sadananda Gowda
9 Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Uma Bharati
10 Minority Affairs Dr Najma A Heptulla
11 Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Ram Vilas Paswan
12 Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Kalraj Mishra
13 Women and Child Development Maneka Gandhi
14 Chemicals and Fertilizers Ananthkumar
15 Communications and Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad
16 Health and Family Welfare Jagat Prakash Nadda
17 Civil Aviation Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati
18 Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises Anant Geete
19 Food Processing Industries Harsimrat Kaur Badal
20 Mines Steel Narendra Singh Tomar
21 Rural Development, Panchayati Raj Drinking Water and Sanitation Chaudhary Birender Singh
22 Tribal Affairs Jual Oram
23 Agriculture Radha Mohan Singh
24 Social Justice and Empowerment Thaawar Chand Gehlot
25 Human Resource Development Smriti Zubin Irani
26 Science and Technology Earth Sciences Dr Harsh Vardhan
Ministers of State (Independent Charge)
1 Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge) External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs General V.K. Singh
2 Planning (Independent Charge) Defence Inderjit Singh Rao
3 Textiles (Independent Charge) Santosh Kumar Gangwar
4 Labour and Employment (Independent Charge) Bandaru Dattatreya
5 Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge), Parliamentary Affairs Rajiv Pratap Rudy
6 AYUSH (Independent Charge) Health & Family Welfare Shripad Yesso Naik
7 Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge) Dharmendra Pradhan
8 Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) Sarbananda Sonowal
9 Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge) Prakash Javadekar
10 Power (Independent Charge) Coal (Independent Charge), New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge) Piyush Goyal
11 Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), Prime Minister's Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions , Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space Dr. Jitendra Singh
12 Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge) Nirmala Sitharaman
13 Culture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge), Civil Aviation Dr. Mahesh Sharma
Ministers of State
1 Minority Affairs, Parliamentary Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
2 Drinking Water and Sanitation Ram Kripal Yadav
3 Home Affairs Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary
4 Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Sanwar Lal Jat
5 Agriculture Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya
6 Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises Giriraj Singh
7 Chemicals & Fertilizers Hansraj Gangaram Ahir
8 Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises G. M. Siddeshwara
9 Railways Manoj Sinha
10 Panchayati Raj Nihalchand
11 Human Resources Development Upendra Kushwaha
12 Road Transport & Highways, Shipping Radhakrishnan P
13 Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju
14 Social Justice & Empowerment Krishan Pal
15 Agriculture Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
16 Tribal Affairs Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava
17 Mines, Steel Vishnu Deo Sai
18 Rural Development Sudarshan Bhagat
19 Human Resource Development Prof. Ram Shankar Katheria
20 Science and Technology, Earth Science Y. S. Chowdary
21 Finance Jayant Sinha
22 Information & Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
23 Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation Babul Supria (Babul Supriyo) Baral
24 Food Processing Industries Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
25 Social Justice & Empowerment Vijay Sampla

Photo Gallery